Assemble Edits

I played a big part in the very beginning of the editing process. As I was the writer, I feel that only I could really do this task, as I am the one who knows the story the most.

Essentially all that I did was cut together the footage in terms of story. I aimed to make the transitions between each edit as professional as I could, using J-Cuts, L-Cuts and Continuity edits.

I believe that Scene 1 has the most impressive editing as I go back and fourth between both characters in order to show their most important expressions. I would switch from Ted to the counsellor to catch the correct body language that she displays between each of Ted’s sentences. It was important that I edited this in a way that shows her lack of patience for him.

For Scene 2, only seconds after Ted and Grace finish hugging and carry on walking, I then show an image of the gang abusing a woman on a tire swing. I show this for a split second as a warning to the viewer that the mood is about to change. After this flash I carried on with the shot of Ted and Grace walking, but then switched to a slightly extended shot of the same gang shot. A problem that I came across editing this scene was the use of ‘master shots’ during both the gang confrontation and the Levis prevention. This made the scene rushed and were unable to display the emotions of Ted.

Certain parts of the Nightclub scenes were straight forward as a few were shot with so-called ‘master shots’ (that I was again unhappy with.

Here is a slightly updated version of the rough edit that I made. The way that the film flows, is the way that I edited the film itself. https://vimeo.com/64468259 – password: eonsrough

Screenshot (10)

I am happy with the edit that I did, however there are some problems I had whilst doing this. There was certain footage that was not there, like some important reactions from Ted in both during the Scene 2 and Scene 7. There are a lot of shots that were either not filmed well, so the story of that particular scene is less explained. I also have to get my co-editor to crop a lot of the footage as there are too many long shots.

Leave a comment